top of page
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

Buckethead Pike Reviews

A review of Pike 7 'The Shores of Molokai' by Buckethead, released August 9th 2012

Good evening everybody, today our trip through Buckethead's Pike album series continues with Pike 7 'The Shores of Molokai'. So, let's begin. Woo!!

Released August 9th 2012, Pike 7 has a run-time of just over 31.5 minutes and like many of the early pike releases, was sold with it's original cover showing Big B tapping his killswitch.

The Shores of Molokai refers to one of the largest islands that make up Hawaii and seems likely that Buckethead once paid a trip there. I don't blame him.

The album kicks off with the 45 second Track 1'Intro'. And as it suggests, this is more of a track to set the tone of the album, so to be fair in the ratings I'm excluding it from the overall percentage.

The title track 'The Shores of Molokai' kicks the album into gear with some heavy rock riffage taking a nice turn around the 2 minute mark, leading into a sweet solo. Shores of Molokai is one of only a few Pike album songs that Buckethead has ever performed live. A solid track indeed.

Track 3 'The 5 Masters of Decapitation' really locks onto an excellent riff around the 30 second mark that powers the song through, ending with some glorious guitar popping. Good stuff.

Next up, Track 4 'Henry's New Home'. What starts off as a funky dance-along track with Dan Monti on baritone, descends into controlled madness that you never see coming. Although short, it's a fun, somewhat addictive song.

Track 5 'Counter Clockwise' is next, and although its another short song, this a thoroughly enjoyable anthem style track. Cool riffs, excellent flow, great tone. It's one of the album's better tracks.

Track 6 'Stumps on Stilts' like many of the tracks before it locks on to an excellent beat, get's you right in the groove and is hugely helped by the awesome drum track, ending with a short shred solo. Solid.

Track 7, the comically titled 'Mannequins are my Friend' delivers more of the same, really kicking in around the 1.5 minute mark and ending with the same exact riff that was used on Buckethead's 2007 album 'Pepper's Ghost' 'Brewer in the Air'. Named after the Pike albums co-producer and contributor Dan Monti. Nice!

The tone slows down with Track 8 'Smile Without a Face'. But, not for long. Soon into the track Buckethead is making his guitar growl before ripping on his killswitch and then returning to the albums theme of heavy riffage. Another solid, enjoyable track.

Track 9 'Hatchet' is the longest track on the album at almost 5 minutes, it doesn't quite find the groove that the previous tracks did and probably could've done with a shorter run-time. For me, its the albums weakest song.

Track 10 'Thermal Exhaust Port' picks things back up with some cool riffage and good pacing, taking the occasional break for some nasty guitar growls. At 2.5 minutes it's in and out, and it works.

The album ends with track 11 'Melting Man' which is so mesmerizing that it totally catches you off guard given the albums heavy tone throughout. Slow, melodic and haunting, Buckethead would later return to the song 3 pikes later with Melting Man Part 2, taking the song to far greater heights.

Overall Pike 7 is another solid album, riff laden, excellently complemented by the drums and an enjoyable listen from start to finish, with the highlights being The Shores of Molokai, Counter Clockwise and Melting Man.
After adding up the rating I gave for each track and omitting track 1 from the rating, It came to 70%, which I'd categorize as Good.

So, what's your rating for Pike 7?
To work out what percentage you'd give the album, rate each song out of 5 stars, add up your total and divide it by the total score possible, which for Pike 7 is 50 (without track 1). Then times it by 100.

Pike 7 is a glorious trip to the Shores of Molokai.

Pike 7 'The Shores of Molokai' RATINGS (out of 5)
1. Intro (excluded)
2. Shores of Molokai   ****¼ (4.25)
3. The 5 Masters of Decapitation   ***¼  (3.25)
4. Henry's New Home   ***½  (3.5)
5. Counter Clockwise   ****¼  (4.25)
6. Stumps on Stilts   ***½  (3.5)
7. Mannequins are my friend  ***  (3)
8. Smile Without a Face   ***¼  (3.25)
9. Hatchet   **¾  (2.75)
10. Thermal Exhaust Port  ***  (3)
11. The Melting Man   ****¼  (4.25)

Album length: 31:39

Total = 35 out of 50 (Album = 70%, Good!)


1-20 % = Poor
1- 40 % = Below Average
40-60 % = Average
60-80 % = Good
80-100 % = Awesome!

Buy the album HERE

Buckethead Worms for the Garden
The Silent Picture Book


bottom of page