top of page
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

Buckethead Pike Reviews

A Review of Pike 14 – The Mark of Davis by Buckethead. Released May 31st 2013

Good evening everybody, today we're going back down the rabbit hole of Bucketheads Pike album series with Pike 14 'The Mark of Davis'. So, let's begin. Woo!!

Released May 31st 2013, the pre-sale of Pike 14 made reference to Basketball star Pete Maravich saying that the album was 'Pike rhymes with 3,667 points and an incredible 44.2 per game'. Which was the scores accumulated by Maravich during his career.

The albums cover art is the first Pike cover to feature a rollercoaster on the front, a theme that would return many times later down the series, and is suitable for Pike 14, as it definitely has it's ups and downs.

The album kicks off with Track 1 'Ricochet'. Beginning with heavy metal riffage, shred solo's with numerous crazy tapping sequences and funky bass interludes .Certainly not a track for everybody but it has a great flow and is a good opener.

Track 2 'Nebula' starts of somewhat disjointed but really kicks into gear at the 50 second mark with a short but delightful solo before handing off to some signature Buckethead bass slapping and heavy metal riffage. Short but enjoyable.

Track 3 'The Canals' is driven along by an excellent bass melody with gloriously dark undertones and is a nice shift in pace. Like the previous 2 tracks it might not have the Buckethead wow factor, but again, it's enjoyable.

Track 4 'Chickenphant' is by far the longest track on the album at almost 10.5 minutes. And while it definitely showcases Bucketheads supreme shred skills, it feels more of a backstage warm-up than an actual song and in all honesty is a tough listen given its length. One that will probably make most people check out after a few minutes.

For Track 5 'Dry Ice Screeches' Buckethead picks up what seems to be the Banjo, although it's pretty hard to tell, and like track 4, feels like a pre-gig warm-up rather than a song. Easily the albums weakest track so far.

Track 6 'Death Star Surface' picks up where the first 3 tracks left off with heavy riffs, drums and tapping sequences. Although not as strong as the opening tracks, it's still in the same vein even if not as enjoyable.

Track 7 'Tree of Lanterns' is essentially more of the same from the first 5 tracks, heavy riffs, tapping sequences and banjo noodling. Like an off-road trip to Inbred Mountain.

The album ends with Track 8 'Elephicken'. 51 seconds of funky bass noodling that much like tracks 4 & 5 don't really leave a lasting impression and certainly not one one you'll ever revisit.

After adding up the rating I gave for each track, It came to a disappointing 38%, which I'd categorize as below average. The first 3 tracks are well worth a listen but the album really loses it's flow from track 4 onwards.

Overall, given how consistent and enjoyable the previous handful of Pikes had been, Pike 14 'The Mark of Davis' unfortunately doesn't quite hit the mark. And as big of a Buckethead fan as I am and as hard as it is to say, I really don't like this album, at least, the second half of it.

So, what's your rating for Pike 14?
To work out what percentage you'd give the album, rate each song out of 5 stars, add up your total and divide it by the total score possible, which for Pike 14 is 40. Then times it by 100.

Does the Mark of Davis hit the Mark, what do you think?

Pike 14 'The Mark of Davis' RATINGS (out of 5)
1. Ricochet  ***  (3)
2. Nebula   ***  (3)
3. The Canals   ***  (3)
4. Chickenphant   *¼  (1.25)
5. Dry Ice Screeches   ¼  (0.25)
6. Death Star Surface  **½  (2.5)
7. Tree of Lanterns   **  (2)
8. Elephicken   ¼  (0.25)   

Album length: 31:44

Total = 15.25 out of 40 (Album = 38%, Below Average)

Buy the album HERE


Buckethead Worms for the Garden
Buckethead Twisterlend
PIKE 1 Buckethead


bottom of page